For You, Dad

A year and a half later,

I visit your grave:

not to weep and not to mourn,

but for my identity to save.

I’m your only child.

I’m the only girl.

I’m who God gave you

to bless me with your world.

How often I’ve forgotten

my potential inherited from you.

How often I’ve overlooked

who I am and what I do.

Here is where I remember

this connection within myself.

Here is where I feel the reality of real.

Memories answer questions.

What happens communicates response.

Response results in doing,

living my life from your loss.

Guided Grace, be on my side

pushing away my pain and pride.

Eloquence and elegance

engage miraculous magnitude.

Without you leaves my vision of me

from your instilled amplitude.

Leave a Reply

