Lotus

Help me be born
Out of the mud,

Out of the grime,

Out of the sludge,

Out of the slime.

Once, I was a seedling,

stunted and small,

struggling among muck,

as mirky waters rose tall.

Only so patiently did I grow strength

to shoot out fresh leaves

and buds of great length.

My roots ran deeper into this cove

Of my foundation, my start, my love.

I’ve undergone many storms, many floods, many droughts.

I’ve survived gushing blows of waterfall boughts.

My petals behold pure fragile beauty,

graciously unfolding loving human glory.

Out of the water,

Out of the sand,

Out of the silt,

Out of the land

I was born again.

Leave a Reply

